Wednesday, 11 April 2012


Sorry everyone for the lack of updates, i'm quite annoyed with myself for the main reason of wanting to stay persistant with my blog, but it's not completely my fault.
Firstly I tried to log in but for some reason Google wouldn't let me and when I tried to change my password it would send me to just a blank page.
Secondly I have not really had any motivation to write reviews or do Meme's, but promise I am back!!!

Monday, 13 February 2012

Review: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

The Statistical Probability of Love at First SightTitle: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight
Author: Jennifer E. Smith
Goodreads Av. Rating: 4.00
My Rating: 2
Who would have guessed that four minutes could change everything?
Today should be one of the worst days of seventeen-year-old Hadley Sullivan's life. She's stuck at JFK, late to her father's second wedding, which is taking place in London and involves a soon to be step-mother that Hadley's never even met. Then she meets the perfect boy in the airport's cramped waiting area. His name is Oliver, he's British, and he's in seat 18C. Hadley's in 18A.
Twists of fate and quirks of timing play out in this thoughtful novel about family connections, second chances and first loves. Set over a 24-hour-period, Hadley and Oliver's story will make you believe that true love finds you when you're least expecting it.
I can honestly say that I do not understand where all the hype surrounding this book has come from, in my opinion it is a very average mediocre book. There was nothing overally special nor addicting about it, the only thing that got me reading was just to see how it ended.
I'm not saying that it was a bad read, just nothing to me stood about to make it a memorable read.

The story follows Hadley and Oliver over a 24 hour period, who both have gone to London for a special event. Hadley misses the plane to her father's wedding and must wait til the next flight, which happens to be when she bumps into English guy Oliver, who after getting to know each other better, they both fall head over heels in love with one another.

Ok so it wasn't the storyline which caught my eye, I could not possibly comprehend how a book could be spaced over a mere 24hours, and I believe that it is probably near impossible, as proved by this book, I felt that contiously I was faced by boring filling scenes, to make the book longer, but barely was able to interest me.

I found romantic sparks fly through this book, which even made my heart skip a beat. Though these were rare occasions.

The book was written in third person, which I have a problem with anyway when it comes to Romance books, I felt that it limits how much of the characters emotions I feel while reading the books, and would really enjoyed to read Oliver's side of the story more.

The characters were both arguable relatable, though only in some aspects.
Unlike many other male character's, I felt no connection with Oliver, to be honest I found him to be annoying at times.
Hadley is a character who I hold mixed opinions on. I felt slightly sympathetic at the fact that she was not overjoyed about going to her father's wedding, to a person Hadley had never met, which is obviously quite hard for some people, but at the point of almost complete refusal to go, gave her quite a selfish side, and this was just where it began. Then she puts her own selfish needs, before her fathers and his new wife. She just was not written to be a likeable character.

Saturday, 11 February 2012

Review: Private by Kate Brian

Title: Private
Private (Private, #1)Series: Private #1
Author: Kate Brian
Goodreads Av. Rating: 3.96
My Rating: 4
 Tradition, Honor, Excellence...and secrets so dark they're almost invisible Fifteen-year-old Reed Brennan wins a scholarship to Easton Academy -- the golden ticket away from her pill-popping mother and run-of-the-mill suburban life. But when she arrives on the beautiful, tradition-steeped campus of Easton, everyone is just a bit more sophisticated, a bit more gorgeous, and a lot wealthier than she ever thought possible. Reed realizes that even though she has been accepted to Easton, Easton has not accepted her. She feels like she's on the outside, looking in.
Until she meets the Billings Girls.
They are the most beautiful, intelligent, and intensely confident girls on campus. And they know it. They hold all the power in a world where power is fleeting but means everything. Reed vows to do whatever it takes to be accepted into their inner circle.
Reed uses every part of herself -- the good, the bad, the beautiful -- to get closer to the Billings Girls. She quickly discovers that inside their secret parties and mountains of attitude, hanging in their designer clothing-packed closets the Billings Girls have skeletons. And they'll do anything to keep their secrets private.
What is not to love in the fabulous first instalment of Kate Brian's Private Series.
Just WOW this book seriously stole a piece of my heart.

It may not be the most complex or action packed book, but I felt like it was a story I was able to create a connection with.

Within the first page I was hooked, no it did not start with a ridiculously over the top action packed first page, instead it was quite sweet and simple, a running theme within the book.
There was just something so magically about the writing, it wasn't the average writing author's used, but it was in the language style I could imagine being used by Reed, the main character, which really bought the book to life.

It was the storyline which grabbed my attention, so I thought I would give the book a go, and ended up reading it in one sitting.

Reed earns herself a scholarship to one of the best schools in the country, Easton Academy. It's something she has always dreamt about, but mostly she wants to escape her not so perfect homelife.
But for Reed, going to a school full of the posh and privileged, is not all it is cracked up to be, and to feel excluded she attempts to catch the attention of student elite: Billings Girls.

I felt like in a way it is a book many can relate to, a sense of isolation, or a need to be someone we are not just to impress other's.

Reed, is a character, who can be either praised or critized.
Though I believe Kate Brian created one of the greatest female protagonist's I have came across. She has dreams, makes mistakes, naive at time's, but is always true to herself.
To get where she wants to be in life, she sees her only choice is to become a Billing's Girl. Like many people today, she attempts to change herself to fit in, and makes a slight fool of herself at times.
Definitely a book of relatable character's (to an extent).

Tuesday, 7 February 2012

January 2012 Monthly Wrap-Up

So this month has seen the introduction of my blog, and would like to thank all my followers and reader's!
Also I have managed to get through quite alot of books in my opinion, along with my first college exams.

15/53 Great start in the reading challenge!
  1. Feed by Mira Grant
  2. Silence by Becca Fitzpatrick
  3. The Lost Saint by Bree Despain
  4. Hate List by Jennifer Brown
  5. Turned by Morgan Rice
  6. Abadon by Meg Cabot
  7. Mercy by Rebecca Lim
  8. Wildthorn by Jane Eagland
  9. The Outsiders by S.E Hinton
  10. Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  11. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith
  12. Delirium by Lauren Oliver
  13. Inside Out by Maria V. Snyder
  14. Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
  15. Private by Kate Brian
Favourite Book: Hate List by Jennifer Brown
Least Favourite Book: Turned by Morgan Rice

Monday, 6 February 2012

Review: Inside Out by Maria V. Snyder

Inside Out
Title: Inside Out
Series: Insiders #1
Author: Maria V. Snyder
Goodreads Av. Rating: 3.93
My Rating: 2
I’m Trella. I’m a scrub. A nobody. One of thousands who work the lower levels, keeping Inside clean for the Uppers. I just do my job and try to avoid the Population Control Police, who dream of recycling scrubs into fertiliser. So what if I occasionally use the pipes to sneak around the Upper levels?It’s not like it’s dangerous… Well, turns out it is. Because I know every corridor, pipe and shortcut I’ve become the go-to girl to lead a revolution. I know if we find a gateway to Outside it’ll be suicide plain and simple. But guess who likes a challenge? I should have just said no…
I am a big fan of Maria V. Snyder's other works, which became a contributing factor to why I decided to give Inside Out a try. Such a large amount of hype and positive reviews surronded this book, but honestly I felt like it was a very poor read.

Dystopians are a very hard genre to write, though Snyder's ability to create world's in her other books, made me hopeful that she would be much more successful with this book, than she had.

Comparing Inside Out to other Dystopian novels, I believed this 'new world' was very under developed, no history is provided, no myths and barely any information of how they live now, is given. Multiple times I questioned the way these people are expected to live in this world, trapped basically in a building. People can not live without natural light properly, food can not be grown properly in unnatural light, how are animals surviving, where is water coming from and most importantly where is this never ending supply of metal coming from? These are the type of things I believe need an explanation behind them. The setting just wasn't believable.

The world is split into Upper level citizens, and Lower level citizens, otherwise known as Scrubs. I felt like this society based on Capitalist values, which considering the apparent and rather failed equality was unrealistic. The Upper levels have basically given up all the control over to the 'Trava' family, which lead to the Upper levels being treated as slaves despite their high status.

The main reason I did not like this book, was due to main character: 'Trella'. Main character's are meant to be lovable and definitely likable, by the reader. But Trella is portrayed as a very cold character, who reader's do not feel any type of connection with. Also Snyder's attempt to add Trella as being a victim of isolation and verbal abuse, in a way to get the character's to like her, though really I felt like Trella believed she was better than herself, despite the attempts of denying it.

The main story interested me, another factor which made me want to read the book. Though I felt like too much was happening at once, but nothing appeared to be leading anywhere. In the end everything got a bit too confusing, that it would take about 10 times reading the book to manage to get your head around the book.

It was only at about 60% that I thought the book got a slightly bit interesting, but this did not stay the same for long.

Friday, 3 February 2012

Follow Friday #2


         Follow Friday is now hosted by TWO hosts, Parajunkee and Alison of Alison Can Read.

Q: Define what characteristics your favourite books share. Do they all have a kick ass heroine or is the hot love interest the Alpha Male?

A: I tend to look for something much more unique in books than many other reader's. I plan to one day be a Counsellor for young people, which I believe influences what I enjoy in books. Despite a love for supernatural and dystopians, I find Real-life books much more to my style. In my favourite books, the majority of them share a running theme of real-life problems, which show the character's in many depth's.

Monday, 30 January 2012

What Are You Reading? #3

It's Monday! What Are You Reading, hosted by Book Journey, is where we gather to share what we have read this past week and what we plan to read this week. It is a great way to network with other bloggers, see some wonderful blogs, and put new titles on your reading list.

Read in the past week
Delirium by Lauren Oliver (My Review)
Been a bit of a slow reading week, this week.

Currently Reading
Inside Out by Maria V. Snyder
To Read Next

Anna Dressed In Blood by Kandare Blake
Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink
Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

Saturday, 28 January 2012

In My Mailbox #1

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.
In My Mailbox gives blogger's the opportunity to share the books they have acquired over the week.

Divergent by Veronica Roth
(I have this book for my Kindle and have already read it, but after seeing it for £2 in my local book shop I had to buy it in print copy)
Private by Kate Brian
Claire de Lune by Christine Johnson

Friday, 27 January 2012

Review: Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Title: Delirium
Author: Lauren Oliver
Series: Delirium #1
Goodreads Average Rating: 4.06
My Rating: 4
Before scientists found the cure, people thought love was a good thing. They didn’t understand that once love -- the deliria -- blooms in your blood, there is no escaping its hold. Things are different now. Scientists are able to eradicate love, and the government demands that all citizens receive the cure upon turning eighteen. Lena Holoway has always looked forward to the day when she’ll be cured. A life without love is a life without pain: safe, measured, predictable, and happy.

But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena does the unthinkable: She falls in love.

I wasn't overally sure about reading Delirium, as I wasn't that much of a big fan of Lauren Oliver's debut: Before I Fall.
Though being a dystopian, I knew I had to give the book a chance and well, I am glad I did.

Delirium opens the reader up into a whole new world, almost literally.
The story is set in the future version of America, a country once split by states, now split by boarders, surrounded by the Wild's. Love has been declared as a disease, and the anti-dote is compulsory for everyone as they turn 18.

The story follows Lena Holoway, on the lead up to her 18th birthday. Lena was a character who I absolutely loved. Not only did I find her relatable, but also realistic. Unlike many female protagonist's in her rebellion position in a Dystopian novel, Lena does not begin the book resisting, infact she is a very willing member of society and only begins to become a typical dystopian lead as the book progresses.
Male lead, Alex, was a character I fell in love with straight away, though part of me couldn't get my head around how inconsiderate he could come across, his mind seems to dream before actually realising the truth, but still I loved him all the same.

Overall the book was addicting, full of suspense and a very riveting read, though is unable to stand out from the many dystopians
The theme alone was very unique and I thought was pretty awesome, never would I have thought of love being banned, and this was what drew me into the book the most.
But in numerous places the book manages to contradict itself: a country which beliefs tend to be based on the Christian religion, basically promotes violence, and forced love.

My favourite bit about the book, was how much effort Lauren Oliver clearly put in to creating such a wonderful book. At the beginning of every chapter is a passage, song, poem etc, some I assume to be real and other's created by Lauren Oliver, which to me made the world so much more real.

I definitely recommend Lauren Oliver to carry on writing Dystopian, she has such a natural skill and I love that I am able to give her books another go.

Friday Discussion: Negative Reviews and Book Blogging Conflicts

Negative Reviews by amateur blogger's, is something which has caused conflict within the literature world, but as more young people begin reading and blogging the conflict has increased. Within the first few days of this year, we have all witnessed disgraceful and rather horrible behaviour by a number of author's and agents against negative reviews.
Of course this is not the first time this has happened, as over the years many blogger's have been verbally attacked and insulted by author's, due to good natured and honest negative review's.

I 100% support negative reviews, and am not afraid to write or post one. As I say if an author can write a bad book, I can write a negative review.

The whole point of being a reviewer in my mind, is to put forth your opinions, why should people be penalised for writing a bad review, but encouraged to write positive reviews, when we should be writing our opinion's only.

Many reader's I know, do not base whether they read a book or not, on a singular negative review, but I have witnessed many say they would never read a book by an author who acts unprofessional.

Advice to Reader's
Always remember that one negative review is the opinion of one person alone, people's opinions on books differ depending on what they prefer. One person may not like a book, but you may. Do not let review's put you off reading a book you think you may like.

Advice to Bloggers
Personally I believe all blogger's should post completely honest reviews, though of course their is numerous blogger's who do not want to, as a way to avoid conflict, I support and understand their descion to do so. But I ask for all you blogger's to sit and think before you refuse to post negative review's, you will not ruin a friendship with author's, by posting a negative review, as the majority of author's accept what is written by their work, and the author's who will complain are the one;s you do not want a friendship with.
Negative review's do not ruin your chance of receiving ARC's, in fact publishing companies probably prefer to see blog's who have a mixture of reviews. Just remember, to always make sure your reviews are not a major bitch-fest, but as positive as you can for a negative review. I always make sure to point out that my reviews are one singular person's opinion, and not the opinion of the whole blogging world.

Advice to Authors
If you plan to be an author, and are obviously putting your own work into the world to almost be critized by reader's, then accept and embrace the critizm you recieve, see it as a chance to improve your books, to become loved by many more.
Disgusting behaviour, will be the one thing to ruin a career, especially considering how close the world of book blogging can be, and news can spread like wildfire, as an author think responsibly about the decisions you make, as you are the celebrities of the book world.

Feature and Follow #1

Follow Friday is now hosted by TWO hosts, Parajunkee and Alison of Alison Can Read.

Q: Which book genre do you avoid at all costs and why?
I actually have quite a varied love of book genre's, of course I have my preferences and ones which I will only occasionally read. The one book genre I do not think I will ever read it Classics. Many tend to be long books, which sometimes I hate and also tend to be worded old fashioned, which I can only stand in  Historical novels.
However I will probably try this genre once again, hopefully.
On the plus side I am a big fan of Modern Classic's.

Wednesday, 25 January 2012

Review: Soul Beach by Kate Harrison

Soul BeachTitle: Soul Beach
Series: Soul Beach #1
Author: Kate Harrison
Goodreads Average Rating: 3.9
My Rating: 4
When Alice Forster receives an email from her dead sister she assumes it must be a sick practical joke. Then an invitation arrives to the virtual world of Soul Beach, an idyllic online paradise of sun, sea and sand where Alice can finally talk to her sister again - and discover a new world of friendships, secrets and maybe even love . . . . But why is Soul Beach only inhabited by the young, the beautiful and the dead? Who really murdered Megan Forster? And could Alice be next? The first book in an intriguing and compelling trilogy centred around the mystery of Megan Forster's death.
 This was a book I had hear near to nothing about, yet it beat expectations and went beyond.

For me it is a proper British book, which follows simple yet effective storyline, has well done characters and a book due to it's English background I could feel as though I related to it much more.

Soul Beach, is about Alice who six months after the death of a reality TV star sister, Megan, Alice received an email from Megan. At first Alice ignores it and see's it as someone's version of a sick practical joke, until another email arrives, but this time from Soul Beach, an interactive website, leading straight to a waiting room for the young, beautiful and dead.

The book was original, fantastic and relate-able for today’s teenage generation, Kate Harrison doesn't just create the 'world' of Soul Beach, but instead creates it to be an interactive website, exclusive only to those invited. In a way it is more of the social-networking site for the dead and their loved one's. Also another thing which makes the book appeals to teenager's in the use of trends used, for example Facebook, which made me as a reader be able to go 'Hey I use that' or 'Oh yeah, I've heard of that', making it a perfect read for someone not overly obsessed with reading.

I managed to read the book in one afternoon, and was completely tangled within the enticing storyline, and was flipping through the pages until there was no pages left to turn. Yet the book itself lacked something, something which bought it from the outstanding five star rating, to the respectable and good 4 star. Despite my addiction to the book, and inability to put it down, there was nothing to keep me going, excluding the all round storyline, I didn't expect much to be on the next page, though maybe the page after that.

Someone which I really enjoyed was: every now and then there would be chapter's, not proper chapter's but more of thoughts of Megan's killer, I believe that this was the perfect choice which the author made to keep the reader interested and hopefully these small 'chapter's will follow through till the end of the series, leaving the reader's to make there own decisions on who is the murderer.

This book hosts one of the best collection of character's I have ever came across, and it's very rare to have all character's are so well developed, also there is a mixture of character's coming from all different backgrounds and stereotypes, something for everyone.
Take Alice for example, despite being the main character of the story you see her obvious thoughts of always being over-shadowed by her sister, before her death, yet any rivalry that went on she soon forgot about. Also we see a rather dramatic, yet expected development within her character. Towards the beginning of the story she is a very timid and shy person, though as the book goes on she becomes much stronger and inspirational, not just as a person but a character too.
Another character I liked was Danny, Danny is a friend of Megan's from the island, and one of my favourite character's due to his story of why he is the way he is. Danny during the book is quite friendly, sympathetic and wise, though as we find out in the book he was once quite a spoilt and self-centred brat, his death which is believed to be his fault was what changed him, realising he needed to be a better person.

This book can't be compared to know another books, because it's nothing like anything else I've read or came across. It really is in a league of it's own.

Tuesday, 24 January 2012

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish

This week is a freebie week, meaning we can post about anything we want. I will be doing: Top Ten Books I'm Excited to Read in 2012. Seeing as I missed this week's post and really wanted to do it.

1. Cinder by Marissa Meyer
I actually read this book last week, but seeing as it was a 2012 release, I have put it on this list anyway.
The whole concept behind the book was what first interested me in reading it, it just sounds amazing and completely unique.

2.Insurgent by Veronica Roth
Insurgent is the sequel to my favourite book of the year, Divergent. Of course I can't wait to read the second instalment, as Divergent left on such a massive cliffhanger.

3.Fever by Lauren DeStefano
The sequal of my second favourite book, Wither, takes third place on my list, due to another first book leaving on such an amazing cliffhanger.

4.Fear by Michael Grant
Fear is the fifth book in the Gone Novels. Since the first book I have been a massive fan of this addicting series and can not wait to carry on the series.

5.The Selection by Kiera Cass
This book has currently become very well known in the world of book blogging for all the wrong reasons's (mainly due to the author and her agent's basically bullying behaviour, towards one certain review). Despite what has happened, I will be reading the book and refuse to let the author and one negative review put me off reading it. I love the cover, and the plotline is seriously intriguing.

6.Under The Never Sky by Veronica Rossi
I just kind of want to read it!!!!

7.Ditched: A Love Story by Robin Mellom
Same as #6

8. Shooting Stars by Allison Rushby
Seriously i just love the title and the cover, enough to make me want to read basically anything.

9. The Treachery of Beautiful Things by Ruth Frances Long
Another amazing and beautiful cover (this year is definitely going to be the best cover year ever!!!). After just finding this book for this list, I read the synopsis, and am currently refusing to wait til mid-August to get my hands on it, I wanna read it now!!!

10. Survive by Alex Morel
And another amazing cover. I just discovered this book, and WOW does it sound amazing or what!!! Definitely the kind of book I will enjoy.

Monday, 23 January 2012

What are you Reading? #2

It's Monday! What Are You Reading, hosted by Book Journey, is where we gather to share what we have read this past week and what we plan to read this week. It is a great way to network with other bloggers, see some wonderful blogs, and put new titles on your reading list.

Read Last Week

Mercy by Rebecca Lim (2 stars)
Wildthorn by Jane Eagland (5 stars)
The Outsiders by S.E Hinton (4 stars)
Cinder by Marissa Meyer (4 stars)

Currently Reading
Jessica Rules The Darkside by Beth Fantaskey

To Read
Delirium by Lauren Oliver
Firelight by Sophie Jordan
Before I Die by Jenny Downham
This week has been a very reading full week. After last week's exam week, it was nice to be able to relax from revision and college work and just read.

I have managed 5 books this week:
  1. Mercy by Rebecca Lim
  2. Wildthorn by Jane Eagland
  3. The Outsiders by S.E Hinton
  4. Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  5. The Statitical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith
To have access to early reviews of this book, follow this link to my Goodreads page.

The first week of my blog is currently going quite well in my own opinion, Ive posted as much as I can and here is the links to all my blogs posts from this week.

Monday: What are you Reading? (Meme)
Tuesday: Top Ten Books I would Recommend to People Who Don't Read YA (Meme)
Wednesday: Mercy by Rebecca Lim (Review)
Thursday: Wintergirls by Rebecca Lim (Review)
Friday: How I started reading Young Adult books.  (Discussion)
Saturday: Wildthorn by Jane Eagland (Review)

Saturday, 21 January 2012

Wildthorn by Jane Eagland

Title: Wildthorn
Author: Jane Eagland
Series: N/A
Goodreads Average Rating: 3.48
My Rating: 5
Seventeen-year-old Louisa Cosgrove longs to break free from her respectable life as a Victorian doctor's daughter. But her dreams become a nightmare when Louisa is sent to Wildthorn Hall: labelled a lunatic, deprived of her liberty and even her real name. As she unravels the betrayals that led to her incarceration, she realises there are many kinds of prison. She must be honest with herself - and others - in order to be set free. And love may be the key...
This book is by far, one of the greatest books I have read.
Intriguing and entertaining, along with historically factual information. This book is bound to keep you captured from beginning till end, with it's amazing and addictive storyline, and constant twists around every corner.

After seeing the beautiful cover alone I wanted to read this book, but as soon as I heard the storyline, I knew it would be a book I would forever love.

A time where women are not equal. When, women were expected to take care of chorus', and not know more than needed. A time where women would be claimed at a lunatic for even dreaming of a life outside of marriage.
I felt my almost none existent feminist side, shine through whilst reading this book, frowning in disgust at how women were once treated, and I began to feel happiness, that I am able to read such a book, which women would not of been able to read a little over a century ago.

The book alternates between the past and present of Lousia Cosgrove. Showing her childhood and why she found herself living the life of Lucy Child's in Wildthorn Lunatic Asylum, but also her life inside the asylum. I thought this was a really good idea of the author, as we under Lousia as a person and witness her natural personality as she grows up, but show how easy the mistreating within a mental home can change a person, and cause them to doubt their own sanity, when sane.

I believe the book was beautifully written by Jane, who has shown a clear skill in novel writing. The writing, is not only brilliant, but also distinctly correct for the Historical Era, when set, the way the character's speak emphasis the old fashion quality of this novel.
I felt a loss of control over my own emotions, and gave it up to the book, I felt angry when the book intended me to, I felt upset when the book intended me to, I do not think I have ever came across such an effective book, in all my reading history. The whole book was just so addicting, and keeping me reading as I turned each page, to the point of reading this book in nearly one sitting.

The character's were impressive and wonderfully casted into the roles they played in the story.
Lousia is a strong character, that even when she was put in a situation, which has proven to turn people insane, she still managed to hold onto her self and sanity. She doesn't care what society says about how she is expected to behave, and defies the 'norms' in following her own dreams. She is a true heroine, who I believe I can relate to, so very much.

As a psychology student, and knowing how these asylum's once were, I believe Jane did a brilliant job at making such an accurate portrayal, of such a horrible and torturous place.

Friday, 20 January 2012

Friday Book Discussion: How I discovered Young Adult books

When i was a child, I would describe myself as a reader, not an avid reader, nor bookworm, just a reader.
I read when I needed to, at school and with my mum at home, that was basically all.
Despite my love for these magical world's created, by mere words, I found myself lacking interest in reading as a hobby, I just wasn't very good at reading.

As the years went on I read more and more to myself, but overall less time reading altogether. I mainly read Jacqueline Wilson books, and was secretlty envious of those who read much more than me. I spent years on low reading grades, lower than average atleast, this was mainly because I was never good at reading aloud, the main way our reading grade was tested. I was unable to show my true potential.
I became close to giving up reading, until I discovered reading online, on websites such as Quizilla and FictionPress. These stories were written not by author's but my fellow peers. For me the stories were simplier to read.

Due to to these stories, I got a very werid obsession with vampires, as they were the hype of these websites, and in 2008 my sister told me about this book turned film about vampires: 'Twilight'. The moment I watched the film, I knew I needed to read the book, and that I did, which obviously resulted in me reading rest of the series, and finding a love of reading once again come back, but this time I could read these books and understand them completely. It wasn't long til I became the obsessive reader, I call myself today.
Reading is probably the best thing which has ever happened to me, and I hope it's a hobby and love I manage to keep for years and years.

How did you become a reader?
Please comment below

Thursday, 19 January 2012

Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

WintergirlsTitle: Wintergirls
Series: N/A
Author: Laurie Halse Anderson
Goodreads Average Rating: 3.95

“Dead girl walking,” the boys say in the halls.
“Tell us your secret,” the girls whisper, one toilet to another.
I am that girl.
I am the space between my thighs, daylight shining through.
I am the bones they want, wired on a porcelain frame.

Lia and Cassie are best friends, wintergirls frozen in matchstick bodies, competitors in a deadly contest to see who can be the skinniest. But what comes after size zero and size double-zero? When Cassie succumbs to the demons within, Lia feels she is being haunted by her friend’s restless spirit.

In her most emotionally wrenching, lyrically written book since the multiple-award-winning Speak, Laurie Halse Anderson explores Lia’s descent into the powerful vortex of anorexia, and her painful path toward recovery.

This book was heart wrenching, emotionally and most importantly inspiring.

This story truly is one of the most effective and emotional stories I have came across.
One which will always linger in the back of my mind, and the front of my thoughts.
I have heard allot about Laurie Halse Anderson's books, and due to an interest in eating disorders and there effects I thought I would start off on this book.
I didn't expect it to be as good as it was, and was pleasantly surprised.

Laurie, achieves a different and unique kind of writing style which i have never came across before. Words and phrases she uses makes the reader feel as if they are in fact Lia themselves, as if they are going through the struggle with her, the emotions, the feeling and even surrounded by the same kind of environment. She is a writer who doesn't just create a story, but a monumental piece a literature, art, as I would describe.

Many author's who write books on such difficult issues, such as eating disorder's and self-harm which are both big parts of this book, usually get criticized for un-believable aspects, but during the whole of the book I never even considered there be a bit that was 'un-realistic', not a single thought, emotion and action which Lia did.

As I've said this book is inspiring, for all them girls who want to be skinny, all them girls who want to keep losing weight. It touches not just the effects on the body, but also the people around, family and friends. It also shows how much you will realise you want to stop when faced with death and the danger zone, and hits the reader with the realization that you may be the one to die because you didn't eat a bit of that bagel and regretting it during the whole process.

This book does truly teach life-lessons and holds many important messages.
In the story we do witness the importance for a strong family unit, especially during the illness of someone, but also how much friends can effect someone.

The story begins after the death of Lia's bestfriend, Cassie, and part way through Lia's experience with anorexia. As a reader we are taken back, in the story to how the death occurs, as well as the eating disorder for both girls.

The family unit created in the book, in similar to may.
Lia lives with her father, David, a successful writer and professor who barely has any time for her.
Jennifer her stepmother, who is left to mother her, when neither of her parents do.
Emma, her stepsister, and one of the only people we witness Lia really love.
And her mother, Claire, who like David is too busy to deal with her daughter and is a successful heart doctor.
All the family unit, is realistic and is powerful within it's self.
But then there is Lia herself, I personally did not find myself able to relate to her, I had never had an eating-disorder, or had to grief over someone, and I do believe she is a character that not many people would be able to re-late to, but her character and personality is so strong, so real, you don't need to relate to feel her effect.

Wednesday, 18 January 2012

Mercy by Rebecca Lim

Title: Mercy
Author: Rebecca Lim
Series: Mercy #1
Goodreads Average Rating: 3.77
My Rating: 2
 I found Mercy to be a very odd book to read, it was good and it was bad. The beginning was amazing, one of the best first few pages I have ever come across, but then the book went down hill, and I mean alot. I got to the point, where numerous amount of times I was going to just give up on the book, but everytime I came close, the book would get so exciting and intriguing again. I just couldn't decide if I liked it or not. It was almost like it was written by two different author's.
There's something very wrong with me. I can't remember who I am or how old I am, or even how I got here. All I know is that when I wake up, I could be any one. It is always this way. There's nothing I can keep with me that will stay. It's made me adaptable. I must always re-establish ties. I must tread carefully or give myself away. I must survive.

Mercy doesn't realise it yet, but as she journeys into the darkest places of the human soul, she discovers that she is one of the celestial host exiled with fallen angel, Lucifer. Now she must atone for taking his side. To find her own way back to heaven, Mercy must help a series of humans in crisis and keep the unwary from getting caught up in the games that angels play. Ultimately she must choose between her immortal companion, Lucifer, and a human boy who risks everything for her love.

It was the concept which intially intrigued me to reading the book. This girl going from one body to another, taking complete controls of these girl's lives, was just utterly amazing. I thought it had so much potential, something which I believe the author, almost reached, but not enough.

To me the book was a romance, though it was almost like that genre was meant to be a secret. It made the  book much more interesting to read and more emotional for me, to the point that I nearly cried atleast once.

I believe I am not eligiable to comment of the character's relatability or development, as I skimmed about half the book, but still I found myself slightly able to relate to the character's.

All in all, I gave this book a 2star, because I felt like I wasn't able to enjoy it very much.

Tuesday, 17 January 2012

Top Ten (actually seven) Books I Would Recomend To People Who Don't Read YA!

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Books I'd Recommend To Someone Who Doesn't Read YA

1. The Hate List by Jennifer Brown
 For me this is one of the greater books in the YA world, which not only give us a great name, but also prove to all those people who believe Teen Literature is not real literature, will finally see some of the talent which lies in not just this book, but many Young Adult books.
When I read this book I thought it was absolutely amazing!

2. Noughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman
Ok so this is a book I would recommend to anyone, regardless to what genre they read, or if they even know how to read. For me this is one of the greatest books of all time.
The book cover's very important issues, such as racism, whilst holding an emotional romance at the same time.

3. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Suzanne Collins is one the most well known author's in the YA book world, and is also created the dystopia trend. I would recommend this book to someone who doesn't read YA because it is almost a book for all ages, and loved by a lot of people, it like The Hate List, I believe shows the best of YA.

4. Stolen by Lucy Christopher
This book was utterly amazing and by far one of the most addictive books I have ever came across.

5. By Midnight by Mia James
This book was a great crossover between a vampire book and a pretty awesome mystery book. I really loved this book, it was absolutely amazing, and one of the greatest vampire books I have read.

6. The Luxe by Anna Godbersen
This is a book I can admit, I recommend to everyone, even my friends who don't read. The Luxe shows the best in an historical genre, even outside the YA world, I believe.

7. Divergent by Veronica Roth
I bugged and bugged my sister for days, until she gave in and gave this book a try. It is amazing, addictive and one of my favourite books ever!

URGH!!! Can Not Think Of Anymore, Leaving It At Seven!

Monday, 16 January 2012

What are you reading? #1

 It's Monday! What Are You Reading, hosted by Book Journey, is where we gather to share what we have read this past week and what we plan to read this week. It is a great way to network with other bloggers, see some wonderful blogs, and put new titles on your reading list.
Read Last Week

Turned by Morgan Rice
Abandon by Meg Cabot

Currently Reading

Mercy by Rebecca Lim

Upcoming Reads

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Feed by Mira Grant

Title: Feed
Feed (Newsflesh Trilogy #1)Serious: Newsflash Trilogy #1
Author: Mira Grant
Average GoodReads rating: 4/5

The year was 2014. We had cured cancer. We had beaten the common cold. But in doing so we created something new, something terrible that no one could stop. The infection spread, virus blocks taking over bodies and minds with one, unstoppable command: FEED. Now, twenty years after the Rising, bloggers Georgia and Shaun Mason are on the trail of the biggest story of their lives - the dark conspiracy behind the infected. The truth will get out, even if it kills them.

YAY!!! Book 1 of the year, down, just 52 left!
This is the kind of book, which despite the fact that all you have heard good things about it, it still manages to surprise how amazing it actually is.

I began reading this book, in a half hour break between college classes, and almost refused to put it down. In such a little amount of time I had already managed to be dragged into the world of the book and not wanting to leave.

The book is about a world, the same as ours, though no longer plagued with the common cold or cancer, but instead a new kind of illness. When each person dies, they do not stay dead, they come back of zombie's roaming the streets trying to find someone to turn into one of their own.
Georgia, Shaun, Rick and Buffy are a group of bloggers, who base their lives on writing, filming and reporting zombie attacks. But the blog is given an offer which can't be refused, to follow a presidential campaign.

The book goes straight into the action, automatically hooking the reader, and leaving them on the edge of their seats, and even each time beyond the first chapter, it's near impossible to put the book down.
The writing is a mixture of two. The normal, every day book writing style, telling the story and also casual writing coming from the character's in the occasional blog post, which was a really nice added factor in the book and probably my favourite bit.

I loved the story of how it mixed such an adventurous story plot in with a storyline partly evolved around politics's. The zombie's may take a back seat in the book, but you know that they are constantly there as a threat. The storyplot altogether was slightly confusing, it took a while before I could fully understand what was going on, though this did not pose much of a problem.

The character's were unique and strong.
Georgia, otherwise known as George is the character who stands out the most, and not just due to her narrating the book, but to how much of a strong and inspirational character she is portrayed to be. She's strong, stubborn but also such a lovely person.

Shaun, is George's adoptive brother. He is known in the bookworld as an Irwin, someone who seeks danger/adrenaline, and the kind of person who will willingly go and poke a zombie, either hes crazy or suicidal, but one thing  I know for sure he is, is a rather humorous character, he compliments the book so nicely, stood next to his sister, and the relationship they have is amazing, despite being in their twenties, the sibling's are unbelievable close.
Buffy, is a very unique character, well not just character, but person altogether. She's almost distant in the world, and serves her life as a Fictionist, making up poems and stories, but she's also the techie of the group. You can tell within the story she is not that close to the sibling's, but still she holds a level of commitment, but due to the limelight of the story not overly focusing on her I felt as though I didn't get to know her so well.

I could go on and on about all the good things about this book, and find it very hard to mention a bad thing. But here is the bad thing:
This book is wonderful for the way it portrays it's female character, they are all inspirationally strong, except one. A politician, known to get so far in her career due to her sexual assets, due to being a bit 'dumb' according to the book. She is the only female politician in the book, and despite politics being largely known as a male dominated career, it does not put us women in the best of light's, slightly ruining the book for me.

Sunday, 15 January 2012

Abandon by Meg Cabot

Title: Abandon
Series: Abandon Trilogy #1
Author: Meg Cabot
Average Goodreads Rating: 3.67
My rating: 3 stars

Pierce knows what it's like to die.
Last year she flatlined following an accident.
During that time Pierce saw a dark world and met a mysterious and irresistible boy.
Now that boy, John Hayden has turned up at school. Everytime she sees him Pierce finds herself in terrible danger. Yet she's still drawn to him.
John wants to take her back to the place she fears the most: the Underworld.
The question is why?

Meg Cabot is a well known author whose books are known to be amazing and of course popular. I knew I just had to try one and Abandon happened to be the first one to catch my eye.

I had high expectations and because it took so long for me to finally get round to reading it, I had already planned exactly what I thought would happen, leaving me quite disappointed that the book didn't go that way.

The book had massive amount of potential which I believed that Meg was unable to reach.
It took me a while before I found myself able to get along with this book. The beginning and the middle were slightly boring, despite that a lot was happening, to the point that I came close to putting the book down and giving up on it forever, fortunately the end got pretty amazing and definitely gripping.

The book partly alternates between the past and present, which was obviously an up side to the book, except I found the way Meg did it almost impossible to understand. It was confusing and near enough possible to understand, due to no visible change in writing.

A Greek mythology theme takes place in the book, but I found it almost a waste of two lines, those two lines of course being the only two lines where Greek mythology seems to appear.
I can only hope it plays a bigger part in the rest of the trilogy.

I felt like the characters were not fully established or introduced.
Main character, Pierce was someone who I couldn't relate to, mainly due to not really being able to find out about her as a person, only her past.
John, is a mysterious character, who strangely enough I feel like I know more about than Pierce.
All in all the book was an ok read, and after such a cliffhanger ending, I will be checking out the sequel for sure!


Hello and welcome to: The Reading Journal.
I am Kayleigh, the blogger for this book reviewing blog.

So what will you see on this blog?
Well I hope to do numerous reviews each week, take part in meme's and write weekly book related discussion's.

Here is my current plan for the blog:
Monday- Review
Tuesday- Meme, Teaser Tuesday
Wednesday- Meme, Waiting on Wednesday
Thursday- Book Trailer (Basically a way to promote new and old books)
Friday- Discussion
Saturday- Review
Sunday- IMM and Weekly Update